Tags

, ,

I have a confession to make: I am addicted to peanut butter. I love it so much that when I was abroad in Spain for six months I had my mother send me a jar of Jif. Oh, "Moms always choose Jif"and I am particular about which peanut butter too… make me a sandwich with Skippy- I won’t eat it.

In an attempt to try a “healthier” alternative I gave Whole Foods’ almond butter a try. I figured I like munching on almonds, so almond butter should be just as good, right? wrong.

The almond butter I got from Whole Foods was from a self-grind machine. There was no salt or sugar added to this paste… just pure ground almonds. This Almond butter was just so bland and chalky. The texture was no appealing and to be honest, it was hard to swallow. People say you get use to it, but quite frankly I didn’t love it enough to try.

Almond butter is supposedly “healthier.” If you compare the labels you will see that calories and fat content are basically the same. The one significant difference is that almond butter has more calcium and magnesium. However, I do not have a problem with my calcium or magnesium intake, So i do not see the point of making the switch. I want to enjoy dipping my apples in peanut butter. I like the creamy texture of Jif.

