Tags

,

The days are getting colder- which means it is soup season under my rough. It is very rare I use a recipe when making soup… its more of just tossing a bunch of vegetables in a pot. An improvisation so to say. I didn’t even realize I was making minestrone soup!

So here is how I throw a bunch of stuff in a pot and call it my own…

Ingredients:

6 Medium sized Carrots

2 zucchini

3 Small Onions

4 Celery stocks

6 Cloves of Garlic

2 Cups of Mushrooms

Bay Leaves

4 Cups of Chicken Stock

1 Can of Colavita Crushed Tomatoes

1 Can of Cannellini Beans

An Bouillon Cube and Olive oil

1.)Stir Fry the chopped onions, carrots, zucchini, potatoes, celery and garlic. This will help bring out the flavors of the vegetables. In the meantime, dissolve the Bouillon Cube in hot water in a separate bowl.

2.) Once the vegetables have fried add the chicken stock, Bouillon Cube and the can of crushed tomatoes. Throw in the bay leaves as well.

3.) Let all the ingredients simmer in the pot. Stir occasionally and taste. Once the vegetables have become soft add the cannellini beans and box of mushrooms. You wait till the end to add these because the beans are already pre cooked and you don’t want to over cook the mushrooms.

Quick and easy just like I promised! These also go great with Turkey Meatballs- but that’s a whole other recipe. ENJOY!

 

