Tags

,

The cookie recipe’s on the back of chocolate chip bags are always the same. Two sticks of butter and a whole lot of chocolate chips. To my taste, they always come out to oily and never seem to be enjoyable after they harden an hour later. In lieu of my consistent failure to make a cookie to dunk in my milk I searched online for a recipe that was nothing like nestle suggests. I came across this recipe on the Food Network Website, Lighter Chocolate Chip Cookies . At first I was reluctant to trying it. Usually when you make something that is only tasty because of the fats it has dietetic it comes out tasting awful. But since I complained that my batch always tastes “too buttery” and they never stay chewy I figured what the heck this has less butter and by comments left they came out chewy for others. All I can say is I was very pleased.

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 Cup of Rolled Oats
  • 1 Cup of Whole-Wheat Pastry Flour
  • 1/4 Teaspoon of baking soda
  • 1/8 Teaspoon of salt
  • 4 Tablespoons of unsalted butter, (1/2 Stick) at room temperature
  • 2/3 Cup of brown sugar
  • 3 Tablespoons of agave nectar
  • 1 large egg at room temperature
  • 2 Teaspoons of vanilla extract
  • 1/2 cup of small semisweet chocolate chips

1.) Combine the oats, flour, baking soda and salt in a food processor and pulse until the oats are finely ground. Set a side in a separate bowl.

2.) In an electric mixer, combine the butter, sugar and agave until light and fluffy. Add the eff and vanilla and mix until all ingredients combine. Reduce the mixer speed to the lowest and gradually add the flour/oatmeal mixture just until all is incorporated. Fold the chocolate chips with a spatula.

3.) Scoop a tablespoon of dough and place them two inches apart on a cookie sheet lined with parchment paper. Transfer the sheets to the refrigerator. Let them sit for about an hour or until hard. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. Bake one cookie sheet at a time on the middle rack for 12- 15 minutes or until the cookies are brown around the edges. Let them cool completely before removing them from the pan.

These cookies spread rather than puff up so make sure to leave enough space between each tablespoon. Most cookies are chewy only after you take them out of the oven… but these stay chewy for longer! Next time I’ll add some pecans for a crunch.

