Tags

,

I don’t think it’s a surprise to any of my readers, that I love oats. From my several attempts to make different granola oat bars, to even substituting flour for oat flour in my chewy chocolate chip cookie recipe– I can’t deny I love oats. I even have oatmeal as a snack sometimes. So naturally, I am always on the look out to find new ways to incorporate oats in to homemade snacks. The other day I came across an Oat Cake recipe from the Real Local Cooking blog – not only did they look amazing but they could  be made sweet and savory.

Ingredients

  • 1 1/3 cups of oat flour: rolled oats pulsed in a blender
  • 1 cup of quick oats
  • 1/3 cup ground flaxseeds: flaxseeds puled in a blender
  • 1/3 cup of olive oil
  • 3/4 cup of boiling water
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp ground black pepper (for savory version)
  • 2 tsp of cinnamon and 1 tbsp of sugar (for sweet version)

* I accidentally put black pepper, cinnamon and the sugar in my batch. Surprisingly the pepper added a nice kick to the end. So if you like a hint of spice in your sweet treats def. add in the pepper.

Mix all dry ingredients in a large bowl. Make a well in the center and pour in the olive oil. After the olive oil is incorporated, stir in the water a little at a time. You don’t want the dough to be too wet (because it will be too sticky to handle) or too dry (because it will fall apart). Roll it into a large ball and let it sit for a couple minutes.

In the meantime, preheat the oven to 350 degrees. Line a baking sheet with parchment paper and cut an extra one for rolling. On a clean counter top,  place dough on top of the sheet of parchment paper and roll it out to about 1/4 of an inch thin. Use a cookie cuter (or I used a drinking glass) to cut out crackers for baking. Place the oat cakes in the oven for 20 minutes and then flip over for another 20 minutes. Let cool and harden.

These oat cakes are wonderful! The smell of the cinnamon makes your house smell amazing. As the original posts said, they are great to eat with jam and cheese. A big fan of Greek Yogurt as well, I tried it on one of the oat cakes- and the tart, sweet, spicy taste was simply amazing!

